Noisy Egg Nests

Noisy Egg Nests nurture the creative work of the Artistic Directors and performers of Ensemble Offspring, ensuring they can bring the music of tomorrow to life.

As a Nest supporter you will be able to build a special, personal relationship with your chosen performer or Artistic Director, through intimate gatherings with the Ensemble Offspring creative team, and invitations to exclusive preview performances or rehearsals. You will also receive special reserved seating for select events and acknowledgment in programs and our website.

Artistic Director: Claire Edwardes (Percussion)

Performers: Lamorna Nightingale (Flute) | Zubin Kanga (Piano) | Jason Noble (Clarinet) Véronique Serret (Violin) | Blair Harris (Cello)


Blair standing, holding cello

Blair Harris (Cello)
This is the only remaining empty nest. Help us fill it!

Donate Now >> 

Blair is a Fellow of the Australian National Academy of Music. As a soloist he has performed with both the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and Orchestra Victoria on numerous occasions, but Blair’s true passion lies in chamber music. From 2010-2017 he was a member of the Helpmann Award nominated ensemble Syzygy. Blair has collaborated with many of Australia’s leading ensembles including the Australian String Quartet, Streeton Trio, Seraphim Trio, Inventi Ensemble and Ensemble Offspring. Blair currently plays on a very fine cello by renowned modern luthier Adrian Studer.


Claire EdwardesClaire Edwardes (Percussion) generously supported by Jules Maxwell 

‘Sorceress of percussion’, founding member and co-artistic director of Ensemble Offspring, Claire Edwardes is a highly regarded interpreter and passionate advocate of contemporary classical music in Australia and abroad. In 2012 & 2007 she was awarded the AMC/APRA Art Music Award for Excellence in Australian Music and in 1999 she was named Symphony Australia Young Performer of the Year. Career highlights include solo appearances at the Huddersfield and Gaudeamus Contemporary Music Festivals. She is currently the recipient of an Australia Council Music Fellowship and in 2015 she will premiere a new concerto by Iain Grandage with the Melbourne and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra’s.


Jason NobleJason Noble (Clarinet) generously supported by Danielle Michel-Simpson and Shane Simpson 

Jason Noble is an in-demand Bondi clarinettist specialising in all members of the clarinet family including the saxillo, clarinis and glove bagpipe. He has been an integral member of Ensemble Offspring since 2002. Jason has twice travelled to the Afghanistan National Institute of Music in Kabul as an educator and clarinet teacher. He has collaborated variously with popular musicians Sally Seltmann and Holly Throsby, the indigenous women’s choir of the Tiwi Islands and most recently performed around Australia with the Shaun Parker Dance Company.


Lamorna Nightingale (Flute) generously supported by the Jonathan Blakeman Memorial and Andrew Fellowes

Lamorna NightingaleA member of Ensemble Offspring since 2007, Lamorna Nightingale is a flautist who enjoys exploring and disseminating new repertoire for the piccolo, flute, alto flute and bass flute. She has released two successful recordings of new Australian flute music Eat Chocolate and Cry and Spirit of the Plains and compiled and edited several collections of pedagogical repertoire for young flautists. Lamorna can also be seen regularly performing with the Sydney Symphony, Australian Chamber Orchestra and the Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra.

Jonathan and Lamorna explore new music in the article A love affair with the new: Lamorna Nightingale meets Jonathan Blakeman


Veronique SerretVéronique Serret (Violin) generously supported by Russell and Jennifer Staley

A founding member of Ensemble Offspring, violinist Véronique Serret is an extremely versatile musician whose repertoire ranges from baroque to contemporary classical, folk and pop to improvisation. She is a part time member of the Australian Chamber Orchestra and recently performed Bach as soloist with the Sydney Dance Company and Pärt with the Sydney Symphony. She is a member of The Noise (improvising quartet) and has joined the various bands of songstresses Sarah Blasko, Katie Noonan, Megan Washington and Joanna Newsome over the years.


Zubin KangaZubin Kanga (Piano) generously supported by Sylvia Jamieson

London-based Australian pianist Zubin Kanga has been playing with Ensemble Offspring since 2005. Recent career highlights include performances at the BBC Proms, Aldeburgh Festival, Bendigo International Festival of Exploratory Music and Metropolis Festival with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. Zubin has been the recipient of the Michael Kieran Harvey Scholarship, the ABC Limelight Award for Best Newcomer and the NSW State Award for Excellence at the Australian Art Music Awards.