Hatched Academy Composer Summer School and Open Mic line up announced!

Post image for Hatched Academy Composer Summer School and Open Mic line up announced!

After assessing many outstanding applications to our 2018 Hatched Academy Composer Summer School and Open Mic streams, we’re pleased to announce the successful candidates.

Six composers were chosen from around Australia to take part in our Hatched Academy Composer Summer School, Dec 10-14. Congratulations and welcome to Solly Frank (NSW), Samantha Wolf (VIC), Joanna Ward (NSW), Jakob Bragg (VIC), Joe O’Connor (VIC) and Josten Myburgh (WA). 

We also welcome our inaugural Hatched Open Mic performers, who are developing three sets for performance at 107, Redfern on July 7. Congratulations to Naomi Johnson and Henry Liang, Ensemble Onsombl and Freya Schack-Arnott.

Meet The Open Mic Performers

Naomi Johnson and Henry Liang
Flautist Naomi Johnson is a versatile and engaging performer with a particular interest in contemporary chamber repertoire. She is often to be found performing works with dramatic and theatrical elements, and is an active writer in addition to performance. Naomi is currently engaged as a Music Programmer at ABC Classic FM.

Henry Liang began playing the Chinese bamboo flute at the age of 6 in China. Though he began learning the Western concert flute two years after, he has always continued his appreciation and curiosity for Asian music and instruments. In 2015, Henry became the second international recipient of a 2-month residency from Columbia University of New York to visit Tokyo as a protégé to study with sho master Mayumi Miyata.

Ensemble Onsombl
Onsombl Ensemble (always spelt a different way) is a proudly ungoogle-able band of composer-performers; a testing ground for new ideas both notated and improvised.  The group departs from the hierarchical, prescriptive structures of the classical tradition allowing the singular ownership of a composition to dissolve. The group embodies the cohesive democratic ensemble unit and its endless performative possibilities. The members do not restrict themselves to one instrument, instead seeking out new sound in whatever form it presents itself; objects, voice, circuit bending etc.

Freya Schack-Arnott
Freya Schack-Arnott is an Australian/Danish cellist who enjoys a multi-faceted career as a soloist and ensemble performer of classical and contemporary repertoire, curator and improviser within experimental music, electronics, popular and cross-disciplinary art forms.

In 2017/18 Freya appeared in a number of festivals as a soloist and chamber musician including: Sydney Festival, Melbourne Festival, Copenhagen Jazz Festival, Dark Mofo, Vivid Festival, Supersense, No New Noise and Now Now Festival. Freya performs regularly with Sydney based Ensemble Offspring and in the Now Now, La la la and Peggy Glanville-Hicks series.

Meet The Summer School Composers

Solly Frank
Solomon Frank is a Sydney based composer and improviser. His practice straddles improvisation, notation, installations, instrument building/manipulation, time travel, fart sounds and cross species musical collaboration. His music often explores conceptual dissonance, superimposing non-musical debris over contemporary classical music. 

Solly’s works have been performed by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows, Willoughby Symphony Orchestra, E-Mex Ensemble, Sydney University Wind Orchestra, Northern Beaches Orchestra, Ku- Ring-Gai Philharmonic Orchestra and his own ensemble, Ensemble Onsombl. Solomon was the 2015 winner of the Fine Music 102.5 young composer award and was the recipient of the 2016 Frank Hutchens Scholarship.

Samantha Wolf
Samantha Wolf is an Australian composer, sound artist, and arts administrator. Samantha’s practice encompasses solo, chamber and orchestral works, collaborations, noise and speech-based works, electronics, and tape. 

Samantha’s music has been performed and broadcast around Australia, the United States and Europe, and her writings have been published by Resonate and Rehearsal Magazine. When not composing or attending concerts, Samantha can be found running along the Merri Creek trail, or curled up with podcast or non-fiction book.

Kirsten Milenko
Kirsten Milenko is an Australian-Russian composer based in Copenhagen, Denmark. She creates sound sculptures for acoustic and electroacoustic media with inspiration spanning over literature, philosophy, architecture, and other performance art mediums. Her works have been featured in performances throughout Denmark, Spain, France, Germany, Poland, Lithuania, Australia, and the United States. Currently, Kirsten studies at the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen, but previously gained her Bachelor’s degree at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, where she was a recipient of the Ignaz Friedman Memorial Prize.

Jakob Bragg
Jakob Bragg is an Australian composer based in Melbourne. His works operate within a microtonal language, often with a juxtaposition of confined pitch material alongside highly fluid gestures and colours.

Jakob’s works have been performed across Australia, Europe, Asia, and North America by artists such as Kupka’s Piano, Syzygy, Kurilpa String Quartet, Halfsound, BRON (NL), Quatuor Tana (FR) eventuell.Duo (CH), The Song Company, AYO, TSO, Queensland Philharmonia, soprano Amber Evans, and will this year work with the Horsley & Williams Duo, Phoebe Green, Ben Opie, and Forest Collective. He has studied at the Impuls Academie, TSO Composers’ School, the Tilde Festival Academy, AYO’s National Music Camp, and the International Masterclass at Shanghai New Music Week 2017. He recently completed his Masters of Music at the University of Melbourne (MCM) with Elliott Gyger, previously studying with Liza Lim, and Gerard Brophy (at the Queensland Conservatorium).

Joe O’Connor
Joe O’Connor is among Australia’s most accomplished improvising pianists and composers. His music skirts the boundaries of jazz and art music, fusing influences from modernism and contemporary minimalism. He won the prestigious National Jazz Award (2013), the Bell Award for Young Australian Jazz Musician of the Year (2014) and the 2011 National Big Band Composition Competition for his composition Rationalisations. He was also a finalist in the 2016 Freedman Jazz Fellowship, the 2015 APRA professional development awards and is a semi-finalist in the 2017 National Jazz Awards on his second instrument, the trombone.

Joe holds a PhD in music performance from Monash University, where he researched ways that Ruth Crawford Seeger’s approach to dissonant counterpoint can inform jazz composition and improvisation. He also holds a Bachelor of Music with first class honours from the Queensland Conservatorium where he was the highest achieving graduate of 2010.

Josten Myburgh
Josten is a Perth-based composer-performer, active in experimental music spaces. He studied with Lindsay Vickery and Stuart James at WAAPA, and privately with Antoine Beuger. He has performed at High Tide/Fremantle Festival, Supersense Festival of the Ecstatic, Klangraum (Düsseldorf), AudioArt (Krakow), Cable#8 (Nantes), 101 Scelsi/Cage Festival (Palermo), KLEX (Kuala Lumpur), and the Totally Huge New Music Festival (Perth), as well as in concert series’ in Europe, South East Asia and New Zealand.

He is part of running the label Tone List, which represents exploratory music activities in Perth through releasing recordings and organising concerts, including the annual Audible Edge Festival; his PhD project at WAAPA involves researching the intersection of contemporary philosophies of hope with experimental music curation. He has released music with Emmanuelle Waeckerle (Wandelweiser), Emilio Gordoa & Michael McNab (Shame File), Jameson Feakes (Tone List) and solo (Flaming Pines).


The Hatched Academy is supported by the City of Sydney and the APRA AMCOS Music Grants Program.