Surreal Interlude

Experimental film with live music

Surreal Interlude

Ensemble Offspring puts challenging new music to four classics of experimental film. Three of the four films feature unique music responses recently composed by Michael Finnissy and Stephen Whittington while Entr’acte returns to the original score by the eccentric composer Erik Satie.

Presented in association with The Studio at Sydney Opera House and Sydney Film Festival.


Luis Buñuel [film 1929], Stephen Whittington [music 2001] 
- Un Chien Andalou
Jean Vigo [film 1930], Michael Finnissy [music 2001] – À Propos de Nice (Australian premiere)

René Clair [film 1924], Erik Satie [music 1924] 
- Entr’acte

Jean Genet [film 1950], Michael Finnissy [music 2000] – Un Chant d’amour (Australian premiere)


Stephen Whittington (piano)
Veronique Serret (violin
Geoffrey Gartner (cello)

Past Performances


Opera House, The Studio, 8.15pm Tuesday 13th June
, 2006

Media & Acclaim

“Ensemble Offspring is one of the edgiest exponents of experimental classical music in Sydney. In Surreal Interlude, they put challenging new musical scores to controversial classics of experimental film.” See full article here.

Sydney Stage