2008 Sibelius Composer Awards

Australia’s most prestigious young composer awards

Sibelius Composer Awards 2008

In 2008, composers from secondary schools and tertiary colleges across the country unlocked their imaginations to go into the running for Australia’s most prestigious young composer awards. The winners of the secondary and tertiary categories went home with an impressive package of prizes including, cash and the latest music technology products.

The 2008 Sibelius Composer Awards presented with the support of Sibelius Software Australia and Arts NSW.


Peter McNamara – The German Hills (winner of the Sibelius Emerging Composer Commission, world premiere)
Liam Kemp – 
Control (secondary school finalist, world premiere)
Liane Papantoniou – 
SynchroniCity (secondary school finalist, world premiere)
Jackson Sweeney – 
Delusional Mind (secondary school finalist, world premiere)
Chie Tsang Lee – 
Autumn’s Rain (tertiary finalist, world premiere)
Jesse McVeity – 
Luminous Patterns (tertiary finalist, world premiere)
Damien Ricketson – 
Same Steps (Australian premiere)
Louis Andriessen – 
Workers Union


Diana Springford (clarinet)
Veronique Serret (violin)
Andy Hines (cello)
Joseph Littlefield (guitar
Claire Edwardes (percussion)
Bree van Reyk (accordion/percussion)

Past Performances

Sydney Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Music Workshop, 3pm Sunday 26th October
, 2008


Purchase the recording of Same Steps
Buy Now