AMPlify: Indigenous Composer Initiative

Post image for AMPlify: Indigenous Composer Initiative

AMPlify: Indigenous Composer Initiative is a new program aimed at supporting and mentoring emerging Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander composers in new music and jazz.

This program is an initiative of the Australian Music Centre, together with Moogahlin Performing Arts, APRA AMCOS, the Australian National University School of Music and Ensemble Offspring.


3 AUGUST, 6pm, Eora College, Redfern


Brenda Gifford – Gambambara
Elizabeth Sheppard – Kooranginy
Troy Russell – Nucoorilma/River life
Tim Gray – Lupe! (4 scenes): War; Reflection; Hunting; Serial Killer’s Mind (Pts 1 and 2)
Troy Russell – River life
Brenda Gifford – Bardju
Rhyan Clapham – Pitara Yaan Muruwariki


Claire Edwardes (percussion/artistic director)
Jason Noble (clarinet)
Lamorna Nightingale (flute)
Freya Schack-Arnott (cello)
Ryan Clapham (percussion)