Birdsong at Dusk


Sydney’s champions of adventurous new music, Ensemble Offspring, give a concert in their core trio line-up of flute, clarinet and percussion.

It’s a program of composers shining the limelight on the new – every work on the program was either written specifically for the musicians of Ensemble Offspring or within the last ten years. All works are by Australian composers, and a common theme is birdsong and the weird and wonderful squeaks, croaks and creaks of Australian native animals. Ensemble Offspring present bite sized, fun and up-beat works to welcome in the dusk.


31 July, 7.30pm, Delmar Gallery, Trinity Grammar School


Jane Stanley – D-re-A-mi-N-gl-Y (movt. 1 & 2) (2017) for flute, clarinet and percussion 6’ (Australian Premiere)
Jane Stanley – Desert Rose (2010) for vibraphone and flute 3’
Hollis Taylor/Jon Rose – Owen Springs Reserve (2014) for vibraphone and field recording 6’
Melody Eötvös – Leafcutter (2012) for clarinet and vibraphone 5′
Felicity Wilcox – Yurabirong (2016) for bass clarinet 6’
Jane Stanley – Helix Reflection (2013) for flute and clarinet 4’
Tristan Coelho – Daybreak (2018) for flute and electronics 6’ (World Premiere)
Hollis Taylor/Jon Rose – Owen Springs Reserve (2016) for vibraphone and field recording 6’
Fiona Loader – Lorikeet Corroboree (2015) for flute, clarinet, vibraphone 8’


Claire Edwardes (percussion)
Jason Noble (clarinet)
Lamorna Nightingale (flute)

Daybreak by Tristan Coelho was commissioned with the support of the Art Music Fund.

 logo with text APRA AMCOS