Kontiki Racket

Post image for Kontiki Racket

A visceral world of living and breathing new sounds, sinuous, sculptural and sizzling, in the form of a two-day festival event at Paddington Town Hall. Kontiki Racket counterpoints Ensemble Offspring with Adelaide’s celebrated string ensemble Zephyr Quartet, and throws in Hatched Academy artists past and current as well as a live installation of our latest line up of Offspring Bites videos. An immersive event showcasing the latest new music from around the globe in an expedition of invention.

Bringing the festival vibe will be Kontiki Bazaar, a market activating the giant Paddington Town Hall space by bringing together artist salon talks (featuring composers Christopher Fox (London), Cat Hope (Melbourne), Hilary Kleinig (Adelaide) and Nicole Murphy (Brisbane), a Meet the Artist social corner, a weird and wonderful instrument corner, a music swap table for all your old sheet music, CDs and LPs, and local food and beverage providers and local artisans.

Finally as part of Kontiki Racket we will be launching our 2019 Offspring Bites release, featuring world premiere recordings by Sam James, Holly Harrison, Bree van Reyk, Andrea Keller and Melody Eötvös – with screenings of the video art commissioned to complement these stunning new works written for and recorded by Ensemble Offspring by Peter Humble, Rowena Crowe, Sam James and Su-An Ng.


Friday 21 June, 6.30pm & 8:30pm (Kontiki Bazaar 5-10pm)
Saturday 22 June, 5pm & 7pm 
(Kontiki Bazaar 3-9pm)

Paddington Town Hall

Tickets: $65 ($35 concession) (+BF)

Buy tickets for Ensemble Offspring


Friday 21st

Kontiki Bazaar 5-10pm
Musical saw workshops with Danica Hobden & Lauren Tsamouras
Musical swap-shop – bring in your old CDs, LPs and sheet music


Artist panel – Christopher Fox, Claire Edwardes, Brendan Woithe, Hilary Kleinig and Callum G’Froerer


CONCERT 1 – Ensemble Offspring #1 ‘Raining’

Olivia Davies – Femme (electro-acoustic)
Sungji Hong – Black Arrow (bass clarinet & electronice) 6′
Missy Mazzoli – Orizzonte (piano & electronics) 5’
Christopher Fox – Iron Rain (percussion, electric guitar, piano) 13’ WP
Nicole Lizée – New Work (percussion solo) 10’ WP
Yannis Kyriakides – Zeimbekiko 1918 (electric guitar, violin & electronics) 11’


CONCERT 2 – Hatched Academy Associate Artist Henry Justo & Friends ‘Creating’

Yannis Kyriakides – Music for Viola 12’
Luciano Berio – Naturale (viola, percussion & electronics) 20’
Alice Humphries – New Work (trumpet solo) 8’ WP
Samantha Wolf – New Work (trio) 8’ WP

Saturday 22nd

Kontiki Bazzar 3-9pm
Musical saw workshops with Danica Hobden & Lauren Tsamouras
Musical swap-shop – bring in your old CDs, LPs and sheet music


Offspring Bites 2 Launch


CONCERT 3 – Zephyr Quartet ‘Breathing’

Brendan Woithe – New Work (string quartet & electronics) 11’ WP
Cat Hope – Wall Drawing (string quartet, theremin & electronics) 11’
Lisa Cheney – When We Speak (cello & electronics) 12’
Anna Meredith – Music for Ravens (string quartet) 3’ AP 
Hilary Kleinig – Exquisite Peace (string quartet) 4’ WP
Caroline Shaw – Valencia (string quartet) 6′


CONCERT 4 – Ensemble Offspring #2 ‘Stealing’

Nicole Murphy – Stolen (electric guitar, piano, violin, clarinet, double bass, percussion, conductor) 12’ AP
Kaija Saariaho – Lichtbogen (flute, percussion, harp, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, conductor & electronics) 17’
Fausto Romitelli – Professor Bad Trip Lesson 1 (flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola, cello, electric guitar, conductor) 14’

WP=World Premiere
AP= Australian Premiere


Claire Edwardes (Artistic Director/percussion)
Roland Peelman (conductor)
Véronique Serret (violin)
Anna McMichael (violin)
Blair Harris (cello)
Kirsty McCahon (double bass)
Rowan Phemister (harp)
Lamorna Nightingale (flute)
Jason Noble (clarinet)
Zubin Kanga (piano/keyboard)
Joe Fallon (electric guitar)
Zephyr Quartet (Hilary Kleinig, Jason Thomas, Emily Tulloch, Emma Perkins (Guest))
Henry Justo (viola – Hatched Academy 2019 Associate Artist)
Callum G’Froerer (trumpet)
Niki Johnson (percussion)

Supported by City of Sydney