Shivers On Speed – CANCELLED

One moment it’s there, and then it’s gone. Music, memory, sound and speed.  Ensemble Offspring returns to the intimate surrounds of the Utzon Room in 2020 with works from the here and now and maybe the future too. 

Each year we feature new music in our program from Australia and beyond that we’re excited about – this year at the Opera House, we present five premieres by local and international composers Karen Tanaka (Los Angeles), Nicole Murphy (Brisbane), Nicholas Morrish (London), Jack Symonds (Sydney) and Brigitta Muntendorf (Cologne). Karen Tanaka’s Techno Etudes is a solo piano slam, while Morrish’s Life of Lines II is a sensuous, exquisitely-crafted other-worldly quintet. Nicole Murphy gets the internet back into the groove in a brand new Noisy Women commission called Click Farm, Jack Symonds clutches at memories in a newly commissioned sextet featuring Lamorna Nightingale, and Briggita Mundendorf’s Shivers on Speed takes you on a crazy, high speed trip through a sonic jungle. 

Ensemble Offspring’s recent European tours have seen them work with unique international voices and now they transport these stunning new works back home. Shivers on Speed brings audiences a concentration of sensory experiences through sound. Don’t miss the newest of the new from Australia and around the world.


CANCELLED due to COVID-19 Wednesday 24 June 7pm, Utzon Room, Sydney Opera House


Nicole Murphy – Click Farm (Noisy Women commission – sextet) 10’ WP
Nicholas Morrish – Life of Lines II (quintet) 14’ AP
Jack Symonds – Memory (sextet) 15’ WP
Brigitta Muntendorf – Shivers on Speed (quintet) 10’ AP 
Karen Tanaka – Techno Etudes (piano solo) 10’ 


Claire Edwardes (percussion)
Jason Noble (bass clarinet)
Lamorna Nightingale (flute)
Véronique Serret (violin)
Blair Harris (cello)
Gabi Sultana (piano – guest)
This project is supported by Arts Council Malta – Cultural Export Grant