Loading Events
Climate change through music

Another Future

June 4, 2022 @ 3:30pm 5:00pm

In Another Future, natural disasters, climate change and pandemics provide rich fuel for artistic expression and musical interaction. Featuring three world premieres written especially for the instrumental forces of Ensemble Offspring, Another Future presents two Noisy Women commissions and a sextet hot off the press by Dutch/American composer Vanessa Lann. 

Eve Klein forges found sounds from recent bushfires combined with weather pattern data which is then curated into art, music and film. Bree van Reyk’s micro theatre Replica Garden imagines a time in the not-too-distant future where there are no gardens and, hence, none of the wondrous sound-making beings that inhabit them. Nirmali Fenn explores post-COVID social distancing through tactility – using our hands as identifiers and connectors, physical awareness is once again renewed. 

A poignant and immersive afternoon inhabiting Casula Powerhouse’s open plan Performance Space, this musical time capsule will tug on your heart strings and open your ears to an innovative sonic future.

“…richly varied and full of surprises…” – Zsuzsi Soboslay

Ensemble Offspring is committed to ensuring our events are accessible to everyone. Please email admin@ensembleoffspring.com at the time of booking to inform us of any special access needs.

$30 / $25 concession / $10 live stream
1 Powerhouse Road
Casula, NSW 2170 Australia
+ Google Map



June 4, 2022




Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre
1 Powerhouse Road
Casula, NSW 2170 Australia


/ $25 concession / $10 live stream



Eve Klein – Hadrian for flute, clarinet, violin, percussion & video (2021) (Noisy Women Commission 2020) WP
Nirmali Fenn – Shadows hold their Breath for quintet (2022) (Noisy Women Commission 2021) WP
Bree van Reyk – Replica Garden for 3 musicians (2020)
Vanessa Lann – Anybody Out There for sextet (2022) WP

WP = world premiere

Program duration: 60 minutes


James Fortune (flutes)
Jason Noble (clarinets)
Véronique Serret (violin)
Freya Schack-Arnott (cello)
Claire Edwardes (percussion)
Bree van Reyk (percussion)
Benjamin Kopp (piano)