Loading Events
Ensemble Offspring

Ngarra-Burria: Australian National University

June 1 @ 7:00pm 8:30pm

Ngarra-Burria are Dharug words meaning ‘to hear, to sing’. Initiated in 2017 by Indigenous composer Christopher Sainsbury, the Ngarra-Burria: First Peoples Composers program exists to support and mentor emerging Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander composers. The annual program is a platform for First Peoples musicians to develop their compositional skills and connect with the art music sector. It is also a shared learning experience, with Ensemble Offspring gaining a deeper understanding of First Nations peoples and culture.

In conjunction with Moogahlin Performing Arts, Australian Music Centre and ANU, Ensemble Offspring and the Ngarra-Burria program help established First Nations musicians to step sideways into the world of art music, build industry knowledge, nurture artistic relationships, and hone new skills in the composition and notation of instrumental chamber music.

This concert features highlight works produced through the past six years of this important program.

100 Childers Street
Canberra, ACT 2600 Australia
+ Google Map


    Notify me when tickets become available:



    June 1, 2023




    Larry Sitsky Recital Room, Australian National University
    100 Childers Street
    Canberra, ACT 2600 Australia


    Brenda Gifford – Bardju (Footsteps) (2017)
    alto flute, bass clarinet, cello, vibraphone

    Nardi Simpson – Wilga’s Last Dance (2019)
    flute, clarinet, cello, vibraphone

    Eric Avery – Gliding (2020)
    flute, clarinet, cello, vibraphone

    Will Kepa – Ailan Opping (2020)
    flute, clarinet, cello, vibraphone

    Brenda Gifford – Miriwa (Sky) (2018)
    voice, bass clarinet, double bass, piano

    Eric Avery – Wind (Of Ancestors) (2022)
    violin, marimba

    Aaron Wyatt – Cirrus (2021)
    clarinet, violin, cello, vibraphone

    James Henry – Zoom Meeting (2020)
    flute, clarinet, cello, vibraphone

    James Henry – new work
    voice, clarinet, piano, marimba
    World Premiere

    Mark Ross – Streets of Sydney (2021)
    violin, bass clarinet, double bass, percussion

    Rhyan Clapham – Pitara Yaan Murawariki (2017)
    flute, bass clarinet, cello, vibraphone

    Nardi Simpson – Burruguu (2020)
    voice, flute, clarinet, cello, vibraphone

    Rhyan Clapham – Talk To Me, I’m Listening (2018)
    voice, bass clarinet, violin, piano


    Claire Edwardes (Artistic Director, percussion)
    Sonya Holowell (voice)
    Lamorna Nightingale (flutes)
    Jason Noble (clarinets)
    Alexandra Osborne (violin)
    Rowena Macneish (cello)
    Roland Peelman (piano)

    « All Events

    Ngarra-Burria: Australian National University