Loading Events
Ensemble Offspring


March 29, 2015 | 3:00pm

One of our most loved annual events, Sizzle is classical music without the formal wear–a place to relax and enjoy new sounds, from art music to pop music and everything in between.

This all-ages event kicks off with John Cage’s famous Musicircus. Choose your own musical adventure as you wander through an array of solo and duo performances staged around Marrickville’s Red Rattler Theatre. Treat yourself to one-on-one Beauty Box performances backstage, don headphones to experience crazy keyboard tunes, interact with our performers upstairs and have your original artworks performed live.

Grab a sausage sizzle* and settle into a comfy armchair for some genre-hopping musical fun, featuring music from Erik Griswold, and our very special guests 10 Guitar Project as well as the vocals of Jess Green teaming up with our own gorgeous drummer Bree van Reyk.

* vegan and traditional will be available for all varieties of sizzle lovers.

“Sizzle offered a challenging, vibrant exploration of sounds and music in a fun, relaxed atmosphere. The format, which allowed the audience members to choose their own level of involvement, enticed the listeners to engage and interact with the music – a very different experience to being ‘force-fed’ in a concert hall! Sizzle left the audience not only open, but looking forward to whatever comes next from Ensemble Offspring.”

Angus McPherson, Cut Common



March 29, 2015




John Cage – Musicircus
David Reaston – 10 Guitar Project
Jess Green – Construct Explode
Erik Griswold – Action Music


Sizzle is supported by Marrickville Council
Marrickville Council Logo

Sizzle is part of The Sydney Morning Herald Spectrum Now presented by ANZ


Jamie Cameron (drums/10 Guitar Project)
Julian Curwin (10 Guitar Project)
Claire Edwardes (percussion)
Jess Green (guitar/vocals/10 Guitar Project)
Ben Hauptmann (10 Guitar Project)
Jono Holmes (10 Guitar Project)
Peter Koopman (10 Guitar Project)
Carl Morgan (10 Guitar Project)
Lamorna Nightingale (flute)
Jason Noble (clarinet)
Mary-Christina Rapp (double bass/vocals)
David Reaston (10 Guitar Project)
Bree van Reyk (percussion/drumset)
Sam Rollings (10 Guitar Project)
Tim Rollinson (10 Guitar Project)
Jeremy Sawkins (10 Guitar Project)
Jacob Abela (keyboard – Hatched artist)
Jodie Rottle (flute – Hatched artist)
Samuel Smith (Hatched artist)
Dan Thorpe (Hatched artist)