Loading Events
Ensemble Offspring


April 29, 2018 | 3:00pm

From art music to pop music and everything in between, Sizzle returns to the Petersham Bowling Club for another year of free, family-friendly aural delights.

2018 features Ensemble Offspring’s virtuosic instrumentalists alongside two driving forces in Sydney’s music world; Satsuki Odamura and her Koto Ensemble and Alice Chance with her new work for you, the audience, entitled The Audience Choir.

David Lang’s Cheating, Lying, Stealing whirls through the club alongside the Australian premiere of Erik Griswold’s Action Music 2, and we once again hear from 2017 Hatched Academy composer Ciaran Frame with his catchy quartet Listeners as Spectators.

Our brand new Hatched Associate Artist, Georgina Oakes joins us for the first time on clarinet and Liz Jigalin returns with another interactive musical experience featuring her Sound Parcels downstairs – a one on one sonic adventure where you get to take home your own little sound parcel made live by Liz.

Bring along the family and revel in the fun and raucous variety show that is Ensemble Offspring’s annual Sizzle.

77 Brighton Street
Petersham, NSW 2049 Australia


“I loved how there was a wide variety of music and not just the same kind, and also all of it was fantastic.”

“Cool ambience!”

“It’s fancy music in a regular venue. It’s bringing serious art to the serious community.”



April 29, 2018




Petersham Bowling Club
77 Brighton Street
Petersham, NSW 2049 Australia


Hikaru Sawai – Rock Garden for koto ensemble 9′
Hikaru Sawai – Okoto for koto ensemble 10′
Alice Chance – Audience Choir (World Premiere) 15’
Liz Jigalin – Sound Parcels performances & survey (World Premiere)
Michael Smetanin – Ladder of Escape (1984) 4’
Guillime Connessons – Scenes de la vie contemporaine (2012) for two clarinets 5’
Erik Griswold – Action Music 2 (2017) for bass clarinet, viola, percussion, keyboard, clarinet, cello, flute (Australian Premiere) 12’
Ciaran Frame – Listeners as Spectators (2017) for bass clarinet, viola, percussion, keyboard 8’
David Lang – Cheating, Lying, Stealing (1993, rev. 1995) for piano, percussion, cello, bass clarinet, brake drums 10’5


Playwave Logo




This project was supported by funding from Inner West Council.

Ensemble Offspring is a partner of Playwave, an initiative created by Shopfront Arts Co-op with the support of the City of Sydney, to engage new young audiences for the Arts.


Satsuki Odamura Koto Ensemble
Elizabeth Jigalin (sound parcels)
Alice Chance (voice)
Georgina Oakes (clarinet – Hatched Academy Associate Artist)
Claire Edwardes (percussion)
Jason Noble (clarinet)
Lamorna Nightingale (flute)
Sonya Lifschitz (keyboard)
Henry Justo (viola)
Blair Harris (cello)