Announcing Our 2022 Hatched Summer School & Noisy Women Composers

2022 Hatched Academy Summer School

Our Hatched Academy Summer School closed out 2021 with a bang, presenting a fierce program of six brand new works by our incredible Hatched Summer School composers at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music – thanks to those who came along. As always, it was an intense but immensely rewarding week of workshops, chats and industry sessions for composers and performers alike. Thanks to Musica Viva in Zetland for hosting us!

Hatched participant Ben Robinson writes, “The care and sensitivity that Ensemble Offspring gave to each new work was inspiring, and it was a privilege to be treated as a professional composer. Also, getting to know the composers, musicians and mentors in the downtime between sessions was a great way to chat more casually about our music and future careers.”

We are thrilled to kick off 2022 by announcing the incredible cohort of emerging composers who have been selected for our 2022 Hatched Summer School program, as well as the chosen recipient of our 2022 Noisy Women Commission. The standard of applicants this year was hugely impressive, and we saw the highest number of applications every received for both streams.

So after a thorough process, the selection panel – including Artistic Director Claire Edwardes, the musicians of Ensemble Offspring and the 2022 primary composer mentor Tristan Coelho – has chosen the 2022 Hatched Summer School composers: Lewis Mosley (NSW), Ceridwen McCooey (VIC), May Lyon (VIC), Andrea Guterres (NSW/NL), Sean Quinn (VIC/USA), and Alexander Voltz (QLD).

In 2022 each of these composers will create and workshop a brand new work for Ensemble Offspring’s lineup of flute, clarinet, violin, cello and percussion, plus special guest harpist Emily Granger.

Excitingly, we are also shaking things up in 2022! Our Hatched Summer School will take place throughout November 2022 in regional NSW at the CORRIDOR Project in Cowra. As well as the usual intensive workshops and informative industry sessions, our week-long ‘on campus’ experience will create opportunities for organically formed relationships and shared experiences.

The composers will also have the opportunity to be mentored prior to the Hatched Summer School by an internationally renowned composer of their choice, selected from our vast list of collaborators including Brett Dean, Seung Won Oh, Sarah Nemtsov, Alice Humphries, Yannis Kyriakides, Lisa Illean, and more.

Don’t miss the Hatched Summer School Concert at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music on our return from Cowra, which will be held on November 12, 2022 and witness six world premieres by these artistic and cultural leaders of the future!

2022 Noisy Women Commission

The Noisy Women Commission is Ensemble Offspring’s annual award for an emerging, female-identifying or non-binary composer. The recipient is awarded a $4,000 commission fee, workshops with Ensemble Offspring and professional documentation of the live concert premiere.

Out of an impressive influx of applications, our 2022 Noisy Women Commission recipient is US based Melbourne composer Samantha Wolf.

Described as ‘haunting’, ‘enigmatic’, and ‘inspired’, the music of Samantha Wolf inhabits the space between the classical, contemporary, acoustic and electroacoustic worlds, while being grounded in the notated tradition. Her practice encompasses instrumental and vocal compositions, interdisciplinary collaborations, and electroacoustic works that incorporate noise, speech, found sounds, and comedy. Samantha currently studies at the Yale School of Music with Chris Theofanidis. When she isn’t composing or finding found sounds, Samantha can be found carbo-loading with some of New Haven’s famous pizza, or in the WYBC studio broadcasting her satirical wellness show, “Ambient Dreams for Sleep-Deprived Teens”.

Working closely with Ensemble Offspring, Samantha will develop a set of quirky miniatures based on modern interpretations of Commedia dell’Arte characters.

Previous Noisy Women Commission recipients are Nirmali Fenn (2021), Eve Klein (2020), Nicole Murphy (2019), Elizabeth Younan (2018) and Fiona Hill (2017). Thanks to our supporters of the Noisy Women Commission including Modest Expectations Foundation. Find out more about the Noisy Women Commission here

Congratulations to all successful composers in our 2022 development programs, we can’t wait to see what innovative creations you come up with!