Results Announced for Hatched Home Academy & Commission

We announce the results of our 2020 Hatched Home Academy & Commission call-out.


We are delighted to announce that our inaugural Hatched Home Commission has been awarded to Simon Charles, a Western Aus-based composer and performer hailing from Melbourne. Simon is a saxophone player and composer with a longstanding interested in improvised music. His practice reflects an interest in the instability of compositional structures; as friction between musical notation and perception and interactions with place. He holds a Masters’ degree in performance (saxophone/composition) from the Victorian College of the Arts. He has been the recipient of several prizes and awards, including the Marion Isabel Thomas Prize (VCA), the Zavod Composition Award, and the Rogowski Scholarship for Saxophone (University of Melbourne). He has presented seminars about his practice as Monash University and West Australia Academy for Performing Arts (WAAPA). He has studied composition with Peter Ablinger and Anthony Pateras.

As part of his Hatched Home Commission he will use field recordings from Noongar Ballardong Country where he currently resides, and will work collaboratively the members of Ensemble Offspring to develop content inspired by these sounds and the area.


The following emerging artists have been awarded one-on-one mentorships with our Ensemble Offspring musicians (Claire Edwardes, Lamorna Nightingale, Jason Noble, Blair Harris, Zubin Kanga, Véronique Serret and Roland Peelman). We are delighted to see a strong gender balance and representation from artists outside NSW.

Eduardo Ruiz (VIC)
Liam Wooding (VIC)
Nick Ashwood (NSW)
Phoebe Bognár (NSW)
Katherine Howarth (NSW)
Nadia Burgess (NSW)
Gabrielle Cadenhead (NSW)
Lily Bryant (ACT)
Christopher Healey (VIC)
Anna Rabinowicz (QLD)
Liam Mulligan (NSW)
Marlene Radice (ACT)
Robert McIntyre (VIC)
Ellie Harrison (QLD)
Abigail Sutherland (SA)
Tim Newhouse (WA)