The Secret Noise

Not all music was made for public consumption. Ensemble Offspring is currently delving into the world of secret music, uncovering a multitude of cultural practices that, for one reason or another, shield music from public life. From sacred forms of ceremonial music to ‘legally extinguished’ compositions, to backmasking and personalised music players, The Secret Noise will unfold as a sequence of discovered scenes exploring the ethical boundaries of music-making as a public or private exchange.

Conceived by composer Damien Ricketson, musicians Claire Edwardes, Jason Noble and Bree van Reyk are joined by dancers Narelle Benjamin and Katherine Cogill and actor Katia Molino in a surreal artistic space somewhere between music, dance and physical installation.

[nggallery id=2]


Damien Ricketson (concept-director/composer)
Katherine Cogill (dancer/choreographer)
Bree van Reyk (percussion/composer)
Claire Edwardes (percussion/composer)
Katia Molino (physical movement/staging/dramaturgy)
Jason Noble (clarinet/composer)
Narelle Benjamin (dancer/choreographer)
Carlos Gomes (director)
Fausto Brusamolino (lighting design)

Further information regarding artistic rationale, performer biographies and production information available here.

The Secret Noise is supported by the City of Sydney

City of Sydney logo 280 x 54