One (2013)

Claire Edwardes is one of Australia’s most charismatic performers, and this is her third solo CD for Tall Poppies. Her first CD (Coil: TP193) contained a selection of important Australian works; her second (Flash: TP215) featured an eclectic array of miniatures taken from the children’s piano literature as well as new commissions, for which she was the recipient of the 2012 Art Music Award for Excellence.

Her innate desire to commission new works is a feature of all Claire’s recordings. Her latest CD One is no exception, with new works composed for her by both Australian and international composers. She also includes repertoire staples by Xenakis, Stockhausen and Rzewski. What is immediately evident is the huge variety of approaches to the vast sound world of percussion, often using no more than just her voice and a single sound source whether it be a hi hat or hardware-variety flower pots.

This CD is a wild ride, so strap on your seatbelt and enjoy!

Released 2013 by Tall Poppies TP223

  1. Iannis XenakisRebonds A & B
  2. Matthew ShlomowitzHi Hat & Me
  3. Erik GriswoldChooks! from Old MacDonald’s Yellow Submarine
  4. Laurence CraneSolo for Claire Edwardes
  5. Javier AlvarezTemazcal
  6. Stuart Greenbaum – Clockwork Lemon
  7. Karlheinz StockhausenTierkreis (Aquarius & Taurus) 
  8. Frederic RzewskiTo the Earth
  9. Roberto SierraBongo-O


Claire Edwardes (percussion)


“Displaying brilliant solo work, this recording is … mesmerising with its repetitive strains, but is also highly energetic and exciting. The multitude of different colours, along with intricate rhythmic challenges, makes this a disc of exceptional bravery by a performer, who brings to her work a creativity and uniqueness, that is so often not experienced.” Barry Walmsley

4 1/2 stars ★★★★ “It all sounds like a wonderful musical magic mystery tour … Edwardes continues to show amazing technique on a whole variety of colourful instruments and she’s now sorted, for the moment, the problem of accommodating her instruments in the back of the car!” Emyr Evans, Fine Music Magazine